The female genital tract

• The female genital tract includes the vulva, vagina,
   cervix, uterus, Fallopian tubes and ovaries.

• The vulva is the fleshy folds that surround the
   opening to the vagina.

• The vagina is a muscular canal or 'tube' which lies
   between the vulva and the cervix.

• The cervix is a 'barrel-shaped' organ which lies at
   the end of the vagina. It is sometimes called the
   'neck of the womb'.

• The uterus (or womb) extends from the cervix and
   lies within the pelvis. The uterus is the organ in
   which the baby develops.

• The endometrium lines the uterus. This lining
   becomes progressively thicker towards the end of
   the menstrual cycle in preparation for the fertilized
   egg. If fertilization does not occur, the top layer of
   the endometrium breaks down and is lost during

• The Fallopian tubes connect the uterus to the ovaries.
   When an egg is released by an ovary, it passes into
   the Fallopian tube, where it is fertilized, and then
   down into the uterus.

• The ovaries lie at the end of each Fallopian tube.
   Every month, an egg is produced from one of the
   ovaries and develops in a small 'cyst' (or follicle).